Content

Univision to Simulcast Final Leg of Mexican League Soccer Final in Spanish, English

Dec. 2 Match between Tijuana-Toluca to Air on Broadcast Service, Univision Deportes Network 11/30/2012 9:43 AM Eastern

Univision Communications is going to cap a big weekend of futbol with its first-ever Spanish- and English-language simulcast coverage with the Liga MX Finals.

As part of its Fin de Semana de Finales (Weekend of Finales) presentation, flagship broadcast channel Univision will air the second leg of the Liga MX Finals between Tijuana and Toluca on Dec. 2 in Spanish, while a separate on-air crew will call the match in English on dedicated sports service Univision Deportes Network live at 6:55 p.m. (ET)

Tijuana, which was promoted to the first division last year and is now shooting for its first title, leads Toluca 2-1 after the first leg, which aired on Univision, on Nov. 29. Toluca is attempting to win its 11th title to equal Guadalajara Chivas record as Mexico’s most decorated club.

The Tijuana-Toluca match will culminate a weekend that will also see Univision Deportes Network cover the FIFA Confederations Cup Draw at 8 a.m. on Saturday Dec. 1 and the 2012 MLS Cup Final, a rematch of last year’s championship between the Houston Dynamo and defending champion LA Galaxy in David Beckham’s last match in the domestic league. TeleFutura  and Univision Deportes Network will present the match action, kicking off at 4:55 p.m. that afternoon.

Here’s the U.S. Spanish-language media leader’s schedule for Fin de Semana de Finales:

Friday, November 30:
  • Linea de Cuarto live from Los Angeles on Univision Deportes Network at 12 a.m. ET/ 11 p.m. CT/ 9 p.m. PT
 
Saturday, December 1:
  • Road to the World Cup: FIFA Confederations Cup Draw live from San Paulo, Brazil on Univision Deportes Network at 8 a.m. ET/ 7 a.m. CT/ 5 a.m. PT (Jorge Calvo)
  •  Futbol Central live from Los Angeles on Univision Deportes Network at 4 p.m. ET/ 3 p.m. CT/ 1 p.m. PT
  •  2012 MLS Cup Final: LA Galaxy vs. Houston Dynamo live from Los Angeles on TeleFutura and Univision Deportes Network at 4:55 p.m. ET/ 3:55 p.m. CT/ 1:55 p.m. PT
  • Futbol Central live from Los Angeles on Univision Deportes Network at 7 p.m. ET/ 6 p.m. CT/ 4 p.m. PT
 
Sunday, December 2:
  • Republica Deportiva live from Toluca, Mexico on Univision at 12 p.m. ET/ 11 a.m. CT/ 9 a.m. PT
  • Futbol Central live from Toluca, Mexico on Univision Deportes Network at 6 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. CT/ 3 p.m. PT
  •  Liga MX: Toluca vs. Tijuana Live from Toluca, Mexico on Univision (Spanish-language broadcast) and Univision Deportes Network (English-language broadcast) at 6:55 p.m. ET/ 5:55 p.m. CT / 3:55 p.m. PT
  • Futbol Central live from Toluca, Mexico on Univision Deportes Network at 9 p.m. ET/ 8 p.m. CT/ 6 p.m. PT
  • Contacto Deportivo special edition on Univision Deportes Network at 10 p.m. ET/ 9 p.m. CT/ 7 p.m. PT