Eshoo Signs Declaration of Internet Freedom

8/28/2012 5:42 PM Eastern

Add the signature of Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-Calif.) to those who have signed the Declaration of Internet Freedom, which was launched July 2 by a host of net neutrality backers, from ACLU and Free Press to Mozilla and reddit cofounder Alexis Ohanian.

"Through its open and transparent structure, the Internet has transformed into a platform supporting thousands of innovative companies, applications and services and millions of new jobs. I've always been a consistent defender of an open Internet in Congress," said Eshoo, cochair of the congressional Internet caucus, in a statement. "I'm pleased to continue this advocacy by signing the Declaration of Internet Freedom."

According to Free Press, so far four legislators are among the 75,000 or so individuals (plus 1,800 groups/organizations) that have signed on to the four-point pledge, which boils down to rejecting censorship, promoting openness, protecting innovation and securing privacy and individual control.

Eshoo joins Reps. Darrell Issa (R-Calif.), Jared Polis (D-Colo.) and Sen. Ron Wyden (D-Ore.). All four were opponents of online piracy legislation SOPA and PROTECT IP, which they argued gave content owners the power to block websites on mere suspicion of piracy.

Want to read more stories like this?
Get our Free Newsletter Here!