Award-Winners in Lone Star State


Sue Saxenmeyer, vice president of public affairs for Cox Communications
Inc.'s mid-America division, received the "John L. Mankin Award" from the Texas
Cable & Telecommunications Association.

The award recognizes an individual whose leadership exemplifies the
commitment shown by John L. Mankin Sr., cofounder of the association.

At the association's annual awards luncheon, operators were also honored for
service to their communities as part of "Project Community."

Gold-award winners included Cox Henderson and Time Warner Cable systems in
Houston and San Antonio. A different program also earned a silver award for the
Houston system, as well as Grande Communications Inc. and AT&T Broadband
Dallas' market-communications department (three awards in this category).

Bronze awards were given to Time Warner systems in Austin (two awards), San
Antonio and Temple, as well as Grande.

The "Kim Curlin Award," in recognition for "the best in Texas," was given to
Time Warner Waco for its "Hometown History" project, and the "Lone Star Judges
Award" for outstanding efforts in multiple categories was earned by AT&T
Broadband's "Stride for Strings."