BAFTA New York Awards Media Scholarships

Hunter College is First-Funded Institution

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts New York (BAFTA New York) has named the 2012 winners of its new education initiative, “The BAFTA New York Media Scholarship Program.”  

 Students attending Hunter College in New York City are the first recipients of the inaugural awards totaling $15,000. The winner of the BAFTA New York-Donald & Eleanor Taffner Award in the amount of $2,500 is Chelsea Franklin. The winner of the BAFTA New York-A+E Networks Award in the amount of $5,000 is Bryan Powers. The winner of the BAFTA-New York - AMC Networks Award in the amount of $2,500 is Dana D’Adamo. The winner of the BAFTA New York - Vibrant TV Award in the amount of $2,500 is Anjuman Hossain. The winner of the BAFTA New York – Cinedigm Award in the amount of $2,500 is Jennifer Guberman. The awards were distributed recently at a private breakfast reception at Cinedigm.

The grant program was established earlier this year to support undergraduate students pursuing media studies at public institutions located within the New York City area. The four-year program, which begins with the Fall 2012 semester, bestows gifts in the amount of $2,500 or  $5,000 and is for one year. Funding for the grant is generated two ways: The BAFTA New York-Donald & Eleanor Taffner Award, created in honor of the Taffners’ contribution to the global media industry; and corporate sponsored awards.

 Harlene Freezer, chair of BAFTA New York, said in a release: “BAFTA New York is always looking for new ways to support our industry and local community. By implementing ‘The BAFTA New York Media Scholarship Program’ we are addressing the very real issue of rising tuition costs at public colleges and institutions.  Media companies such as A+E Networks, AMC Networks, Vibrant TV and Cinedigm recognize this need and we are excited that they have joined us to support Hunter College.

Dr. Libby O’Connell, senior vice president, corporate outreach at A+E Networks, said in the release: “On behalf of A+E Networks, we are delighted to join BAFTA New York and Hunter College’s mission to encourage and support students to obtain their educational goals. Congratulations to Bryan Powers and all of the other student winners.”

Ellen Kroner, executive vice president of communications & marketing at AMC Networks, said in the release: "We're proud to support this talented, next generation of industry leaders and congratulate all the recipients on this achievement."

Jennifer Raab, president of Hunter College, said in the release: “We are so proud that BAFTA New York has recognized Hunter College students as the recipients of these inaugural education scholarships. Now our incredibly talented film students have the support that enables them to study this vital industry here in the media capital of the world.”

To be considered for a BAFTA New York Media Studies Scholarship, students must show a demonstrated financial need, be an undergraduate student with a declared major in media studies with 30-60 completed credits, have an overall GPA of 3.0 or higher and a recommendation from a faculty advisor.  They must also submit an essay.