Cable Center To Induct Six Into 2011 Hall Of Fame Class

Publish date:
Updated on

The Cable Center has announced six members of The Cable Hall of Fame Class of 2011.

The six honorees will be inducted during the annual Cable Hall of Fame Celebration on June 14. The ceremony will be held in conjunction with Cable Connection-Spring, a week of cable industry events for industry associations, conferences and meetings in Chicago from June 14-16.

The 2011 honorees are: 

*CNBC anchor Maria Bartiromo;
*Time Warner Inc. chairman and CEO Jeff Bewkes;
*Mediacom Communications founder, chairman and CEO Rocco Commisso;
*Jim Gray, former vice chairman, Time Warner Cable; former chairman and CEO, PrimeStar Partners;
*PK Worldmedia chairman and CEO Paul Kagan; and
*United Nations Foundation president Tim Wirth.

The honorees were chosen because of their dedication to and impact on the cable industry. The 2011 Cable Hall of Fame selection committee was chaired by Matt Blank, chairman and CEO of Showtime Networks Inc., a member of The Cable Center's board, and a 2009 Cable Hall of Fame inductee.

Since 1998, 84 men and women have been inducted into the Cable Hall of Fame.

"It's my pleasure and honor to welcome these six leaders into the Cable Hall of Fame," said Blank in announcing the 2011 class. "Whether it be on camera, in Congress or behind the scenes, their hard work has been essential to the impact that our industry has on the lives of our customers."

Noted Larry Satkowiak president and CEO of The Cable Center: "Our congratulations to the 2011 Cable Hall of Fame class for this well-deserved honor. We are excited to recognize this inspiring class during Cable Connection - Spring, and we look forward to seeing our friends and supporters in Chicago as we celebrate their many accomplishments."

Based in Denver, The Cable Center serves as the industry's educational arm. Its program areas include the Cable Mavericks Lecture Series, Customer Care Central, Professional Education, the Cable Hall of Fame and the Barco Library.

For more information on the Cable Hall of Fame celebration, visit