Cable Center Names Six To Hall Of Fame


Six cable executives – alphabetically running the gamut from Bodenheimer to Willner – will be inducted into the Cable Hall of Fame in October, the Denver-based Cable Center said Tuesday.

They are:

-- George Bodenheimer (pictured, right), president of ESPN Inc. & ABC Sports and co-chairman of Disney Media Networks;

-- Richard R. Green, president and CEO of Cable Television Laboratories Inc.

-- Raymond E. Joslin, founder and former president of Hearst Entertainment &  Syndication; former senior vice president and member of the board of directors at Hearst Corp.;

-- Susan E. Packard (pictured, left), president of brand outreach at Scripps Networks;

-- Hubert "Hub" Schlafly, former president at Teleprompter;

-- Michael S. Willner, vice chairman and CEO at Insight Communications.

Honorees were chosen based on leadership, innovation, and contributions to the cable industry and their communities, the Cable Center said.

The 2008 Cable Hall of Fame selection committee was chaired by Trygve Myhren, president of Myhren Media Inc. and a 2004 inductee. Since 1998, 65 men and women have been inducted into the Cable Hall of Fame.

"The members of the 2008 Cable Hall of Fame class have a rich and varied history in our industry," Myhren said in a release. "Each has made a lasting and memorable mark in the media world and we are pleased to honor them at this year's celebration."

"It is with great pride that the Cable Center welcomes the Cable Hall of Fame Class of 2008," Larry Satkowiak, CEO of The Cable Center, added in the release. "This group includes some of the most pioneering and inventive members of our industry, both past and present, and we look forward to recognizing them all during this year's induction ceremony during our second annual Cable Days events."

The 11th annual Cable Hall of Fame celebration will be held on Thursday, Oct. 16, at the Colorado Convention Center.

For more information on Cable Days, visit