Cable Hall of Fame Taps 6 for 2010 Class


Yolanda Barco, Allen Ecker, Terence McGuirk, Marc Nathanson, Abbe Raven and JR Shaw have been chosen as the 2010 class to be inducted into the Cable Hall of Fame in May in Los Angeles.

Barco, who died in May 2000, was the vice president and executive officer at Meadville Master Antenna and held many important positions in the cable industry. Ecker is the retired executive vice president of equipment provider Scientific Atlanta. McGuirk is the chairman and CEO of the Atlanta Braves and was a longtime Turner Broadcasting System executive. Nathanson, the chairman of Mapleton Investments, was the longtime chairman and CEO of Falcon Cable TV. Raven is CEO of A&E Television Networks. Shaw is the executive chair of Shaw Communications, the Canadian cable operator.

The 2010 Cable Hall of Fame selection committee was chaired by Michael Willner, vice chairman and chief executive of Insight Communications, chairman of The Cable Center’s board and a 2008 Cable Hall of Fame inductee.

Since 1998, 78 men and women have become members of the Cable Hall of Fame.

The Cable Hall of Fame ceremony will feature a video tribute to Bill Bresnan, the long-popular cable operator who died in November at age 75.

“Bill was very beloved by the industry and he was one of our greatest champions at The Cable Center,” said Diane Christman, The Cable Center senior vice president of marketing and development. “We’re pleased to be able to have this tribute in his honor and just convey the sense of Bill that everybody knew.”

The 13th annual Cable Hall of Fame Celebration will be held May 11 at JW Marriott Los Angeles at L.A. Live. The event is moving from the fall to be part of the Cable Connection–Spring series of industry events.