Cable Nets on Peabody Winners List


The University of Georgia announced the winners of this year’s Peabody Awards Thursday.

Cable’s winners were: Discovery Channel documentary Black Sky: The Race for Space; Cinemax documentary Bus 174; Home Box Office/Cinemax documentary (aired on the latter) Balseros; HBO/Cinemax documentary (aired on the latter) Beah: A Black Woman Speaks; HBO Films’ Something the Lord Made; HBO series Deadwood; Trio documentary The N-Word; The History Channel series Time Machine for its “Rwanda -- Do Scars Ever Fade?” installment; CNBC special The Age of Wal-Mart: Inside America’s Most Powerful Company; Comedy Central’s The Daily Show with Jon Stewart: Indecision 2004; BBC America political thriller State of Play; and BBC America series The Kumars at No. 42.

The Peabody Awards -- established in 1940 and administered by the University of Georgia's Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication -- recognize distinguished achievement and meritorious public service by stations, networks, producing organizations and individuals.