Carrey, Lee to Be Honored at MTV Movie Awards


Jim Carrey and Spike Lee will receive special recognition at the 2006 MTV Movie Awards, to be filmed at Sony Picture Studios in Culver City, Calif., June 3 and to air on the network Thursday, June 8 at 9 p.m. (EST/PST).

Carrey will receive the “MTV Generation Award” for his “dynamic career and acting roles that have captured and entertained MTV audiences for years,” the network said. Tom Cruise was the first to receive the honor at last year's Movie Awards ceremony.

And Lee will receive the “Silver Bucket of Excellence Award” for “powerful and thought-provoking film” Do the Right Thing, MTV added.

MTV also announced new presenters Sandra Bullock, Keanu Reeves, Eva Mendes, Zach Braff, Rosario Dawson, Anna Faris and Borat Sagdiyev, who will join Colin Farrell, Jessica Simpson, Kevin Spacey, Samuel L. Jackson, Amanda Bynes, Dane Cook, Kate Beckinsale, Jamie Foxx, Owen Wilson, Justin Timberlake, Matt Dillon, Will Ferrell, T.I., Kate Hudson, Ludacris, Rebecca Romijn, Kate Bosworth, Famke Janssen, John C. Reilly and Brandon Routh.

And the event will feature live performances by Christina Aguilera, AFI and Gnarls Barkley.