Classroom Honors for 12 Teachers


Washington— Cable in the Classroom honored a dozen teachers at its annual Cable’s Leaders in Learning awards ceremony here last week.

The teachers, who traveled to Washington with representatives from their local cable systems, received prizes for programs such as the creation of a school for dropouts at a mall and using cable programming to give juvenile detainees exposure to nature.

Each of the winners was awarded a $3,000 cash prize, in addition to the trip to Washington.

Comcast Corp., Cox Communications Inc. and Time Warner Cable representatives each had three winners from their service areas, while Cablevision Systems Corp., Adelphia Communications Corp. and Insight Communications Co. each had one winner.

“To be selected as Cable’s Leaders in Learning award winners, these awardees demonstrated dedication to improving learning for all children,” said Cable in the Classroom executive director Helen Soulé. “They did this by reaching beyond the familiar to support and encourage young people to achieve their best.”

The organization gave out awards in four categories: general excellence, pushing the envelope, policymaker and media literacy.

General excellence award winners were: Peggy Bryan, principal of Sherman Oaks Community Charter School in San Jose, Calif.; Linda Kennedy, teacher at White Oak Intermediate School in White Oak, Texas; Calvin Pearce, executive director of Time Dollar Tutoring in Chicago; and Mary Catherine Swanson, founder of AVID in San Diego.

Pushing the envelope award winners were Terrence Clark, a superintendent in Bethpage, N.Y.; Kandy Claybaugh, technology integration coordinator in Colorado Springs, Colo.; Darryl LaGace, director of information systems in Lemon Grove, Calif.; Rebecca Painter, science teacher at Warren Regional Juvenile Detention Center in Bowling Green, Ky.; and Julie York, career preparation teacher in South Portland, Maine.

The policymaker awards went to Dallas, Texas, Mayor Laura Miller, and Kansas Secretary of State Ron Thornburgh.

The media literacy award was given to Chris Sperry, director of curriculum and staff development at Project Look Sharp in Ithaca, N.Y.