CNN Launches ‘Election Center’ Program


Starting Monday night, CNN will dedicate the 8 p.m. hour each weekday to the latest election news coverage from the campaign trail in a new program, CNN Election Center, officials said Monday. The program fills the time slot previously occupied by Paula Zahn, who left the network in August.

CNN Election Center will be anchored from both the New York-based CNN Election Center and on the trail by CNN anchor John Roberts.

Roberts will anchor live from the field as candidates circulate through Michigan, Nevada, South Carolina, Florida and California as the Super Tuesday primaries approach. In New York, a rotating slate of anchors, including Wolf Blitzer, Anderson Cooper, Lou Dobbs, John King and Soledad O’Brien, will anchor from the CNN Election Center. Cooper and Roberts will co-anchor the program’s debut edition.

CNN Election Center will air each weekday from 8 to 9 p.m. through the week of Super Tuesday. The program also serves as a television companion to’s Election Center available at

Joining the program from the trail will be CNN’s political team, including Dana Bash, John King and Mary Snow covering the Republican candidates, and Candy Crowley, Suzanne Malveaux and Jessica Yellin reporting on the Democrats.

Also out on the campaign trail will be CNN correspondents Jim Acosta, Tom Foreman, Joe Johns, Chris Lawrence and Dan Lothian. Gloria Borger; senior political analyst; Jack Cafferty, commentator; David Gergen, senior political analyst; Bill Schneider, senior political analyst; and Jeff Toobin, legal analyst; will also contribute to the program along with CNN contributors Bill Bennett, Carl Bernstein, Donna Brazile and Roland Martin.

Jeff Kepnes serves as executive producer for CNN Election Center.

An extra hour of Lou Dobbs Tonight will preempt CNN Election Center this Tuesday, Jan. 15, the day of the Michigan primary, with Lou Dobbs Tonight airing from 7 to 8 p.m., followed by a Lou Dobbs Tonight Special Report, “Independents Day: Awakening the American Spirit,’ airing from 8 to 9 p.m.