Consumers for Cable Choice Names Board


Consumers for Cable Choice announced its board of directors Tuesday.

The grassroots organization was incorporated in June in Indiana as a nonprofit domestic corporation supporting government reform of franchise policy and broadband-access rules.

Its seed money comes from the nation’s two largest telephone companies, Verizon Communications Inc. and SBC Communications Inc.

President Robert K. Johnson and executive director Jim Conran will be joined by: David Howard, The National Grange; Larry Mitchell, American Corn Growers Association; Hector Flores and Laura Medrano, League of United Latin American Citizens; Thomas Conley, Warren-Trumbull Urban League; J. Glenn Hopkins, Hopkins House Association; Al Sterman, Democratic Processes Center; Ira Schoenholtz, American Association of Business Persons with Disabilities; Ted DeBro, Jefferson County Committee for Economic Opportunity; Lora Weber, Consumers Alliance of the South East; and Wanda DeBruler, DeBruler Inc.

“Each board member brings an important perspective and will be a guiding force as we continue urging state and federal lawmakers to enact legislation that will encourage competition,” Johnson said in a prepared statement. “We are united in our belief that competition in this marketplace will result in better prices, better service and greatly needed innovations in technology for every American.”