Copps Named Acting FCC Chairman


President Barack Obama on Thursday named FCC Democrat Michael Copps as acting chairman,
replacing Kevin Martin two days after he resigned on the final  day of the Bush administration.

am honored to be designated today as acting chairman of the FCC," Copps
said in a statement. "I thank President Obama for his confidence in me
and  for this opportunity to serve."

FCC has three commissioners, two Democrats and one Republican. It normally has
five commissioners.

"I am thrilled to congratulate my good friend and
trusted colleague, Michael Copps, on his designation as Acting Chairman of the Federal
Communications Commission," said fellow Democratic commissioner Jonathan
Adelstein, in a prepared statement. "The FCC will benefit from his leadership,
experience, and abiding commitment to the public interest."

has reportedly chosen longtime friend and technology adviser Julius Genachowski
as his permanent FCC chairman. Genachowski still needs Senate confirmation. As
a confirmed FCC member, Copps did not need Senate approval to become acting chairman.

know that I have a truly gifted and terrific team to work  with. 
I pledge every effort I am capable of to help steer the commission  through its current transition to new
leadership," Copps said.

FCC  Republican member Robert M. McDowell praised
Copps's selection.

"I am  pleased that
President Obama has announced that my friend and colleague, Mike  Copps, will serve as acting chairman of the
commission. I look forward to continuing to work with him at this unique
time," McDowell said.

NCTA president Kyle McSlarrow, in a statement released Thursday, said, "we congratulate Commissioner Copps on being named Acting Chairman of the FCC. This is a well-deserved recognition of a distinguished record of public service, and we look forward to continuing to work with Chairman Copps and the FCC."