Cox Powers Jerry's Kids

Author:
Updated:
Original:

Cox Business/Hospitality Network said it will provide an ultra high-speed Internet connection to administrative and production staff at the Muscular Dystrophy Association's 2010 Jerry Lewis MDA Telethon in Las Vegas, Sept. 5-6.

Cox said the value of the donated 100 Megabit-per-second wired and wireless services is about $90,000.

"We've been providing Internet connectivity to the MDA Telethon for the last five years," Mike Bolognini, vice president of Cox Business and Hospitality Network in Las Vegas in a statement. "Support of children and families is very much in alignment with our existing corporate values, and knowing that we can help ‘Jerry's Kids' in this way makes us feel very good about being a technology provider."

During the 21.5-hour Telethon, MDA staff will be using wired and wireless Internet from the Advanced Convention Services segment of Cox Business / Hospitality Network to communicate with the more than 170 television stations that constitute the Telethon's "Love Network." In addition, MDA staff will transmit photos and press materials to over 1,000 broadcast and print media across the country using the company's powerful Internet connection and flexible telecommunications infrastructure.

"Live television is full of surprises," said Telethon Producer Lee Miller in a statement. "We rely on Cox Communications because our real-time dialogue challenge gets multiplied by a factor exceeding 170, since that many television and cable stations across the country need to stay in constant contact with our production team."

The 2010 MDA Telethon will be broadcast live from South Point Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas Labor Day weekend. The show will begin Sunday, Sept. 5, at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT and conclude on Monday, Sept. 6, at 6:30 pm ET/3:30 p.m. PT.

Related