Cox's Esser Re-Upped Atop C-SPAN Exec Committee

Had Replaced Late TWC Chairman Glenn Britt In Post
c-span group photo 450x345.jpg

C-SPAN's board of directors has re-elected Pat Esser, president of Cox Communications (far right, in photo at left), to a second term as chairman of the board's executive committee.

Esser took over the post following the death of Time Warner Cable chairman Glenn Britt.

The executive committee provides the board's input on strategy and finances for C-SPAN, the public affairs channel funded by cable operators.

In addition, Jerry Kent, chairman of Suddenlink Communications and a board member since 2000, was named to the executive committee.

In other board moves, Cablevision Systems Corp. President Brian Sweeney has joined the board, replacing Cablevision CEO James Dolan, and Amy Tykeson is exiting as director and executive committee member after selling her company, Bend Broadband, earlier this month, where she had been president and CEO.

“We are pleased that Pat Esser has agreed to continue as C-SPAN Board chair and that Jerry Kent has joined the executive committee.  We also welcome Brian Sweeney’s leadership as we strive to continually innovate to serve our audiences in a digital world,” said Brian Lamb, executive chairman of the C-SPAN Board, in a statement.

C-SPAN's Board comprises 140 cable company executives. It sets polic and oversees financial operations, but is not involved in editorial decisions.

Photo (left to right): C-SPAN Executive Chairman Brian Lamb, Cablevision President Brian Sweeney, Amy Tykeson, Cox President Pat Esser.