Coxs McCarley Elected SCTE Chairman


Denver -- Hugh McCarley, director of engineering technology
for Cox Communications Inc., will lead the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers
as its new chairman of the board.

McCarley replaces outgoing chairman Steve Johnson, a senior
Time Warner Cable engineer.

McCarley, who won the prestigious Polaris Award for his
achievements in optical technology three years ago, was elected to the SCTE's top
board spot last Tuesday.

During an awards luncheon here last Wednesday, where
McCarley officially took over as chairman, he said his emphasis will be on increasing the
SCTE's involvement at the local-chapter level.

McCarley said in his remarks that even though the SCTE is
growing by leaps and bounds -- upward of 15,000 members as of last week -- involvement at
the local-chapter level is on the wane, and he wants to reverse that trend.

Meanwhile, an executive search continues to find a
replacement for SCTE president Bill Riker, who wrapped up his duties in that role last
week. Riker starts today in his new role as vice president of the National Cable TV Center
& Museum.

At the Expo last week, Riker was lauded by Digitrans Corp.,
a headend-equipment start-up that is staffed by a coterie of former Standard
Communications executives.

At Digitrans' booth last Wednesday, Riker accepted a
commemorative piece of etched crystal.

Digitrans will also donate $1,000 to the SCTE Scholarship
Committee, and it plans to widen the awards process in coming years so that other
suppliers can also participate. "Bill Riker has led the SCTE virtually from the
beginning," said Clayton Dore, vice president of sales for Digitrans. "With over
15,000 members, it is with much gratitude that we recognize his significant contribution
to the SCTE."

Dore said the award will be presented at the Expo each year
going forward to recognize an SCTE member for his or her "undiminished contributions
to the SCTE."

Meanwhile, other additions to the SCTE's board of
directors included: Comcast Corp.'s Jim Kuhns as Eastern vice chairman; CommScope
Inc.'s Larry Stiffelman as Western vice chairman; Technology Planners' Bob
Schaeffer as secretary; Viewer's Choice's John Vartanian as treasurer; and the
National Cable Television Association's Andy Scott as executive-committee member.