CTPAA Names President’s Award Winners


The Cable Television Public Affairs Association announced the 2005 recipients of its “President’s Award” Wednesday.

Bresnan Communications chairman and CEO Bill Bresnan, Cable & Telecommunications Association for Marketing CEO Char Beales and Crown Media Holdings Inc. executive vice president and chief operating officer Paul FitzPatrick will be honored during the Beacon Awards Gala Tuesday, May 3, at the Ritz-Carlton in Washington, D.C., during the CTPAA’s Forum 2005, “Expanding Cable's Connections.”

CTPAA president Peter Kiley, VP of affiliate relations for C-SPAN Networks, chose this year’s winners, which the association described as “leaders who, by their guidance and support, advance the role of public affairs in the cable industry.”

Kiley commented on each winner in a prepared statement.

On Bresnan: “For many years, Bill Bresnan has been one of the industry's best 'good guys' and do-gooders. Since acquiring more than 300,000 subs in the Great Plains, he has done a remarkable job rebuilding systems and, more important, enhanced relationships with regulators and customers.”

On Beales: “Char Beales has bridged the gap between public affairs and marketing through numerous CTAM initiatives. CTAM has run its collaborative marketing conference, hosted several public-affairs sessions and speakers at its Summit and initiated several consumer-outreach campaigns that include strong public-affairs elements. She is a true industry leader.”

And on FitzPatrick: “Under the watch of Paul FitzPatrick, Hallmark Channel has become the fastest-growing network and provides a number of excellent public-affairs outreach programs. And notably, Paul has effectively delivered cable’s messages to Capitol Hill. He is one of the industry's unsung heroes.”