Decker Anstrom Re-Elected Chairman Of NCTA Board


Decker Anstrom, President & COO of Landmark Communications, was re-elected to serve a second one-year term as chairman of the National Cable & Telecommunications Association’s board of directors, the trade association announced Thursday.

In addition, Tom Rutledge, COO, Cablevision Systems Corporation, was elected Vice Chairman; Bob Miron, Chairman & CEO, Advance/Newhouse Communications, was elected Secretary; and Pat Esser, President, Cox Communications, Inc., was elected Treasurer.

The NCTA Board also established its Executive Committee for 2008-2009.  It includes: Brian Roberts, Chairman & CEO, Comcast Corporation, as Immediate Past Chairman, the above named Officers, and NCTA President & CEO Kyle McSlarrow in an ex officio role.  The following were also named to the Executive Committee:

-- Glenn Britt, President & CEO, Time Warner Cable

-- Rocco Commisso, Chairman & CEO, Mediacom Communications Corporation

-- Ronald Duncan, President & CEO, GCI

-- Jerry Kent, President & CEO, Suddenlink Communications

-- Judith McGrath, Chairman & CEO, MTV Networks 

-- Neil Smit, President & CEO, Charter Communications 

-- Michael S. Willner, Vice Chairman & CEO, Insight Communications

Other Board elections included:

-- Associate Director: Frank Drendel, Chairman & CEO, CommScope, was reelected to serve a two-year term.

-- At-Large Programmer Directors: Decker Anstrom, President & COO, Landmark Communications, Inc.; Matt Blank, Chairman & CEO, Showtime Networks, Inc.; and Debra Lee, President & COO, BET Holdings, were elected to serve two-year terms.  Jeff Gaspin, President & COO, Universal Television Group, was elected to serve a one-year term.

--At-Large System Directors: John Evans, Chairman & CEO, Evans Telecommunications Company; Mark Niblick, Vice Chairman, Midcontinent Communications; and Bill Shreffler, President & CEO, Broadstripe, were elected to serve three-year terms.

-- Rural/Small System Directors: In April 2008, Richard Sjoberg, President & CEO, Sjoberg's Inc., was reelected to serve a two-year term.  In addition, Amy Tykeson, CEO, BendBroadband, was named Chair of the Rural/Small System Operators' Committee for another two-year term.