Dick Green, Netflix, Adobe Pass Win Primetime Emmy Engineering Awards

Other Recipients Include Kodak, Dolby and Sony

Former CableLabs president and CEO Dick Green, Netflix and the Adobe Pass “TV Everywhere” authentication system are among the recipients of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences’ 64th Primetime Emmy Engineering Awards.

Green, who headed CableLabs from its inception in May 1988 until his retirement in 2009, is the recipient of the Charles F. Jenkins Lifetime Achievement Award, which honors “a living individual whose ongoing contributions have significantly affected the state of television technology and engineering,” ATAS said.

“I am surprised and honored to have received this very prestigious award from the Academy,” Green (pictured above) wrote in an email to Multichannel News.

In announcing the award, ATAS noted that Green “guided the cable industry through the transition from its analog roots to the broadband architectures of today, stressing interoperability and standardization across a broad range of operators and suppliers.”

Netflix won an Engineering Emmy Award for streaming of movies and TV programs. The company has more than 27 million subscribers, who access more than 1 billion hours of video per month on the streaming service, available via 800 different consumer-electronic devices.

“Netflix streaming of movies and television shows has been an engine driving digital distribution of television; it is a fundamental spur driving TV Everywhere efforts by MVPDs [multichannel video programming distributors] in response to their game-changing engineering achievement,” ATAS said.

In addition, ATAS awarded the Engineering Plaque -- a “positive recognition of engineering achievements on a different level of technology and industry importance than the Emmy statuette,” according to the organization -- to Adobe Systems for the Adobe Pass viewer-authentication process.

Adobe Pass has been integrated with more than 150  pay TV operators in the U.S., representing more than 97% of all subscription-TV households in the country. On the programmer side, more than 40 live sites and apps from media companies including Viacom, NBCUniversal, Fox, Disney, ESPN, Turner Broadcasting System and Scripps Networks use Adobe Pass for viewer authentication.

Eastman Kodak is this year’s recipient of the Philo. T. Farnsworth Award for its "long history of contributions to the television industry, among which are innovation and leadership in image capture, processing and manipulation," ATAS said.

Other Engineering Emmy recipients include Colorfront for its on-set dailies; FilmLight for look/color management; the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Academy Color Encoding System (ACES); the American Society of Cinematographers Color Decision List (ASC CDL); Dolby Laboratories for the PRM-4200 Professional Reference Monitor; Sony Electronics for the BVM E250 OLED Reference Monitor; and Toon Boom Animation for the Storyboard Pro application.

The 64th Primetime Emmy Engineering Awards were overseen by co-chairs Chris Cookson, president of Sony Pictures Technologies; Geoff Katz, vice president of business development and marketing at Watchwith; and Wendy Aylsworth, senior vice president of technology for Warner Bros. 

The recipients will receive their awards during a ceremony Wednesday, Oct. 24, at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Hollywood. The Engineering Awards will be hosted by actress Olivia Munn, who portrays financial news reporter Sloan Sabbith on HBO’s The Newsroom.