DirecTV Goes Local in Alaska, Hawaii


DirecTV Inc. launched local-channel offerings in Alaska and Hawaii Thursday.

The direct-broadcast satellite provider said it now offers local channels in 142 markets, representing more than 93% of U.S. TV households.

DirecTV launched the service in Anchorage, Juneau and Fairbanks, Alaska, and throughout Hawaii.

Local channels being offered are:

• Juneau: KTOO (PBS) channel 3, KJUD (ABC) channel 8, KTBY (Fox) channel 4, KTNL (CBS/i) channel 13; KATH-LP (NBC) channel 5, WB (The WB Television Network) channel 14 and KYES (UPN) channel 15.

• Anchorage: KTBY (Fox) channel 4, KIMO (ABC) channel 13, KYES (UPN) channel 5, WB (WB) channel 14, KAKM (PBS) channel 7 and KDMD (i) channel 33.

• Fairbanks: KATN (ABC) channel 2, KTVF (NBC) channel 11, KJNP (independent) channel 4, WB (WB) channel 14 and KUAC (PBS) channel 9.

• Hawaii (Honolulu stations): KHON (Fox) channel 2, KHET (PBS) channel 11, KITV (ABC) channel 4, KHNL (NBC) channel 13, KFVE (WB) channel 5, KIKU (independent/UPN) channel 20 and KGMB (CBS/UPN) channel 9.