EchoStar Goes Local in La Crosse-Eau Claire, Syracuse


EchoStar Communications Corp.’s Dish Network Thursday began offering local channels via satellite in the La Crosse-Eau Claire, Wis., and Syracuse, N.Y., areas.

The additions boost EchoStar’s list of markets where it offers local-channel service to 119.

La Crosse-Eau Claire-area Dish customers in 14 counties -- Houston, Winona, Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Crawford, Eau Claire, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Pepin, Rusk, Trempealeau and Vernon -- can now receive ABC channel 19 (WXOW), CBS channel 8 (WKBT), Fox channel 23 (WLAX), NBC channel 13 (WEAU) and PBS channel 31 (WHLA).

And Syracuse area Dish customers in eight counties -- Cayuga, Cortland, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Seneca and Tompkins -- can now receive ABC channel 9 (WIXT), CBS channel 5 (WTVH), NBC channel 3 (WSTM), Fox channel 68 (WSYT), The WB Television Network channel 43 (WNYS) and PBS channel 24 (WCNY).