Ellis Wins 2010 Women in Technology Award

Publish date:
Updated on

Leslie Ellis, Multichannel News columnist and cable industry consultant and analyst, is the recipient of the 2010 Women in Technology Award presented by Women in Cable Telecommunications, the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers and Communications Technology magazine.

The groups called Ellis "one of the most well-respected professionals in the technology sector of cable" in announcing the honor. Ellis, owner of Translation-Please.com and Ellis Edits Inc., writes Multichannel News'Translation Please weekly column -- now in its 10th year -- aimed at demystifying commonly used cable and broadband technology terms.

"I'm stunned and very grateful to be awarded for doing what I love to do -- make technology approachable for people who have less of a natural interest than engineers," Ellis said.


The Women in Technology Award, sponsored by Bright House Networks,
was created in 1995 to recognize and honor leading technology
professionals. The annual award acknowledges the achievements of one
woman who has demonstrated outstanding personal and professional growth
and significantly contributed to the cable telecommunications industry.

Ellis is the author of the A-to-Z dictionary "Definitive Broadband: Next Generation," published in November 2005 as a follow-on to the 2001 guide "Definitive Broadband," and also co-wrote "The Field Guide to Broadband" published in October 2002.

"WICT is thrilled to recognize Leslie. This award gives us an opportunity to show the critical and growing role that women play in the technical side of the cable industry, and Leslie is a fantastic honoree," WICT president and CEO Maria Brennan said in a statement.

The award's 2009 winner, HBO executive vice president of technology operations Barbara Jaffe, will present Ellis with the award during SCTE Cable-Tec Expo, Oct. 20-22 in New Orleans. Ellis also will be featured in an upcoming story in Communications Technology magazine.

"There's no more fitting place to honor Leslie than at SCTE's Cable-Tec Expo," SCTE president and CEO Mark Dzuban commented. "Like her predecessors on the list of Women in Technology Award winners, she has devoted her career to helping the industry to embrace the technological innovation that is reshaping the industry and directly impacting the bottom lines of operators and programmers."

Recipients of the award in previous years include Cyndee Everman, Carolyn Terry, Vicki Marts, Charlotte Field, Nomi Bergman, Marcie Anderson, Christy Martin, Sabrina Calhoun, Margaret Gaillard, Sally Kinsman, Sheri Sharp, Yvette Gordon-Kanouff, Pam Nobles and Pam Arment.