Emmys Get Down to Business


It's going to get easier this year for CNBC, Bloomberg Television and the
special units of Cable News Network, MSNBC and Fox News Channel devoted to
business news to win Emmy Awards.

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences announced Monday
afternoon that four new categories -- all focused on business coverage -- will
be introduced to its News & Documentary Emmys competition.

The winners will be announced and honored at a luncheon event in New York
Dec. 4, three months after the rest of the News & Documentary awards are
presented in a separate New York evening ceremony.

The expansion was approved by the academy's board of directors at its annual
meeting earlier this month.

Nominations will be accepted for all four categories until Sept. 1 covering
programs or segments running between July 1, 2002, and June 30, 2003. The
categories are coverage of a current business-news story, investigative
reporting of a business-news story, interpretation/analysis and business-topic

"We felt it was important to recognize the growing body of quality television
that is not only a component of most national telecasts, but also the full
programming of several dedicated channels," academy president Peter Price said
in a prepared statement.

Nominations will be announced sometime in November.