Emmys: Louis Dreyfus Wins for Lead Comedy Actress for HBO's 'Veep'


Julia Louis Dreyfus won her third career Emmy for her portrayal of the second-ranked official in the United States.

Louis Dreyfus won the statue for lead actress in a comedy for her role as ficionaly Vice President Selina Meyer in HBO’s freshman series Veep.

She earned the statue over fellow rookie series portrayals by Lena Dunham in HBO’s Girls and Zooey Deschanel in Fox’s New Girl, as well as previous Emmy winners Melissa McCarthy for  CBS’s Mike & Molly (2011), Tina Fey in NBC’s 30 Rock (2008) and Edie Falco for Showtime’s Nurse Jackie (2010).