Engvall To Host 2009 CMT Music Awards


Actor/comedian Bill Engvall will serve as host of the 2009CMT Music Awards next month.
CMT will premiere the event live on June 16 at p.m. (ET/PT), and on CMT.com.
Engvall is the host of the CMT's top-rated series, Country Fired Home Videos, as well as the star and executive producer of TBS sitcom The Bill Engvall Show.
Country music's only fan-voted awards show, the 2009 CMT Music Awards, will include performances by Trace Adkins, Jason Aldean, Dierks Bentley, Toby Keith, Brad Paisley, Rascal Flatts, Sugarland, Taylor Swift, Keith Urban and Def Leppard.

Fans can vote online at CMT.comthrough June 14 to determine the night's winners. The final nominees for video of the year will be announced at the beginning of the live show and fans can vote at CMT.com and via text on their Verizon Wireless phones throughout the live broadcast (ET-CT only) to determine the night's big winner.
"Bill Engvall is having a great year. He's among the most successful touring comics of all-time, a mass appeal TV star and a record-shattering proven winner with the CMT audience," said CMT president Brian Philips in a series. "His wry sense of humor and fast-on-his-feet timing make him an ideal choice as host for this year's music awards."