Eshoo Named ITIF Honorary Cochair

Joins Warner, Issa and Hatch at Tech Think Tank

Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-Calif.) has been named honorary co-chair of the Information Technology and Innovation Foundation, succeeding Rep. Ron Kind (D-Wis.).

Eshoo represents the 14th district of California, which includes Palo Alto, the birthplace of Silicon Valley, and is home to Google, HP, Facebook, Symantec, and other Internet/tech firms.

"The work of this leading think tank is at the heart of what America needs to compete in the 21st century-public policy that fosters technological innovation and productivity," Eshoo said in a statement. "I look forward to working with the ITIF on this critical mission."

ITIF is a Washington technology think tank. Eshoo joins other honorary congressional co-chairs Sens. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah) and Mark Warner (D-Va.) and Rep. Darrell Issa (R-Calif.).

Eshoo and Issa, a former tech exec, were both opponents of the Stop Online Piracy Act and PROTECT IP Act, the ultimately scuttled legislation that pitted Northern California Internet tech firms against Southern California's Hollywood studios.