ESPY Winners Announced


National Football League star running back LaDainian Tomlinson of the San Diego Chargers ran away with four awards at ESPN’s 15th annual ESPY Awards show Wednesday night.

The show -- which was taped and will air Sunday, July 15 at 9 p.m. -- was co-hosted by television personality Jimmy Kimmel and National Basketball Association star LeBron James and held in Hollywood’s Kodak Theatre.

Tomlinson won four awards -- the most of the night -- for Best Male Athlete, Best Record-Breaking Performance, Best NFL Player and the Hummer - Like Nothing Else Award.

The Indianapolis Colts racked up the Best Team Award, Best Coach/Manager (Tony Dungy) and Best Championship Performance (Peyton Manning).

Two new ESPY awards were introduced at this year’s ceremony -- Best Finish and The Jimmy V ESPY for Perseverance.

For the fourth straight year, sports fans voted online to choose the winners of every award except the Arthur Ashe Courage Award and the Jimmy V ESPY for Perseverance. More than12.5 million votes were counted for this year’s ESPYs -- a new record for the award show.

The full list of this year’s winners follows:

Special Awards:

• Arthur Ashe Courage Award:Trevor Ringland and Dave Cullen, PeacePlayers.

• Jimmy V ESPY for Perseverance: Kay Yow, North Carolina State women's-basketball coach.

Best in Sport:

• Best Female Athlete:Taryne Mowatt, University of Arizona softball.

• Best Male Athlete:Tomlinson.

• Best Moment:New Orleans Saints return home, beat Atlanta Falcons on Monday Night Football.

• Best Team:Colts.

• Best Coach/Manager:Dungy.

• Best Game:Fiesta Bowl: Boise State over Oklahoma.

• Best Championship Performance:Manning.

• Best Play:Boise State beats Oklahoma with a two-point conversion using the Statue of Liberty play.

• Best Finish:San Diego Padres at Los Angeles Dodgers, Sept. 18, 2006 -- Dodgers hit four straight home runs to tie the game, then Nomar Garciaparra wins it with a home run in the 10th inning.

• Best Upset:Golden State Warriors over top-seeded Dallas Mavericks in first round of NBA playoffs.

• Best Breakthrough Athlete:Devin Hester, Chicago Bears.

• Best Record-Breaking Performance:Tomlinson.

• Best Sports Movie: Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby.

• Best Male College Athlete:Kevin Durant, University of Texas basketball.

• Best Female College Athlete:Taryne Mowatt, University of Arizona softball.

• Best Male Athlete with a Disability:Casey Tibbs, track and field.

• Best Female Athlete with a Disability:Jessica Long, paralympic swimming.

• Best Male International Athlete:Roger Federer, tennis.

• Best Female International Athlete:Maria Sharapova, tennis.

Individual Sports:

• Best Baseball Player:Derek Jeter, New York Yankees.

• Best NBA Player:James.

• Best WNBA Player:Lisa Leslie, Los Angeles Sparks.

• Best NFL Player:Tomlinson.

• Best NHL Player:Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins.

• Best MLS Player:Landon Donovan, Los Angeles Galaxy.

• Best Male Action Sport Athlete:Travis Pastrana, motocross.

• Best Female Action Sport Athlete:Sarah Burke, skiing.

• Best Bowler:Norm Duke.

• Best Driver:Jeff Gordon.

• Best Fighter:Floyd Mayweather, boxing.

• Best Golfer:Tiger Woods.

• Best Jockey:Calvin Borel.

• Best Outdoor Athlete:Dean Karnazes, marathon.

• Best Male Tennis Player:Federer.

• Best Female Tennis Player:Sharapova.

• Best Track and Field Athlete: Jeremy Wariner.

Sponsored Awards:

• Hummer - Like Nothing Else Award: Tomlinson.

• Under Armour Undeniable Award, Best Women's Collegiate Team: University of Tennessee basketball.