FCC Grants Three Post-Auction Phase Reassignments - Multichannel

FCC Grants Three Post-Auction Phase Reassignments

Launches website to track grants of repack phase moves
Publish date:

The FCC has created a website to update TV stations on the latest information and changes in the post-auction TV station repack phase assignments, which includes three changes in the inaugural edition.

According to the new site's log of changes, three stations have been granted their request to move phases: WTVQ Lexington, Ky., moves from phase 3 to phase 6; and WECT and and WWAY, both of Wilmington, N.C., move from phase 7 to phase 5.

Most of 1,000 stations having to move in the post incentive auction repack are being assigned -- or in the aforementioned cases are asking to be reassigned -- to one of 10 phases. The first phase begins Sept. 14, 2018, and the 10th ends July 3, 2020.

"In an effort to keep broadcasters up to date on changes to a particular station's channel and phase assignment during this transition, we have created this website to provide the most up-to-date version of each of these files," the FCC said in announcing the new site. "These files will be updated within a few days of any change that has been granted by the FCC."

The initial construction permits for new facilities as part of that repack, and the initial estimates of what it will cost, are due July 12.