Gottlieb, Nichols, LaForce Join NCAA Tournament Coverage Team - Multichannel

Gottlieb, Nichols, LaForce Join NCAA Tournament Coverage Team

Turner, CBS Announce Talent-Pairings for 2013 Version of March Madness
Publish date:
Social count:

About to enter their junior season of combined coverage of NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship, Turner Sports and CBS Sports will feature some different on-air talent pairings for the upcoming tourney.

Joining this year’s announcer tournament lineup are Doug Gottlieb, who will serve as a game and studio analyst, and courtside reporters Rachel Nichols and Allie LaForce.

The tournament tips off on Tuesday, March 19 and Wednesday, March 20 with the NCAA First Four on TruTV, presented by Northwestern Mutual. Marv Albert and Kerr will have the call from Dayton, Ohio that Tuesday, with Craig Sager reporting.  Wednesday’s First Four broadcast team, which will also call the second and third round games from the Dayton site, will be announced on Selection Sunday, March 17.

Jim Nantz, Clark Kellogg, Steve Kerr and reporter Tracy Wolfson, for a third straight year, will team up on CBS’s live coverage of the Final Four and National Championship game, which this year will be held in Atlanta on Saturday, April 6 and Monday, April 8.

As has been the case since the media companies have been tourney telecast teammates, Turner Sports and CBS Sports will utilize two studios. Anchored by Greg Gumbel and Ernie Johnson, the New York studio squad will feature Charles Barkley, Greg Anthony and Kenny Smith providing analysis throughout the tournament from the CBS Broadcast Center in Manhattan. Matt Winer anchors the coverage from Turner Studios in Atlanta and will be joined by Seth Davis and Steve Smith.  In addition, Lesley Visser will serve as a contributor. 

During the regional semifinals and finals, Gottlieb will join the New York studio team.  Gumbel will remain in New York alongside Barkley, Anthony, Gottlieb and Kenny Smith, while Johnson will shift to the Atlanta studio to join Davis and Steve Smith.

Studio coverage for the First Four originates from Atlanta and will feature Johnson, Barkley, Kenny Smith and Steve Smith on Tuesday, with Winer, Davis and Steve Smith working Wednesday. 

The following are the announcer pairings for the second and third rounds -- Thursday, March 21-Sunday, March 24.

Play-By-Play / Analyst // Reporter

*Regional Announce Teams

Jim Nantz / Clark Kellogg // Tracy Wolfson*

Marv Albert / Steve Kerr // Craig Sager*

Verne Lundquist / Bill Raftery // Rachel Nichols*

Kevin Harlan / Reggie Miller / Len Elmore // Lewis Johnson*

Ian Eagle / Jim Spanarkel // Allie LaForce

Brian Anderson / Dan Bonner // Marty Snider

Tim Brando / Mike Gminski // Otis Livingston

Spero Dedes / Doug Gottlieb // Jaime Maggio