HBO Tops The Standings With Nine Sports Emmys


HBO headed the list of Sports Emmy Awards winners last night, capturing nine statues in total, four various iterations of its 24/7 franchise.
But the premium leader was not alone on the cable side, with ESPN properties garnering seven, rookie service MLB Network four, Showtime a pair, and Fox Sports Network, NFL Network and Speed winning one apiece.
The 31st Annual Sports Emmy Awards, held at a ceremony at Frederick P. Rose Hall, Home of Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City on April 26, also bestowed a Lifetime Achievement Award on the retired John Madden, who won an unprecedented 16 Emmy Awards for outstanding sports analyst/personality.
HBO won five of its nine Emmys for its 24/7 franchise, which chronicled the Mayweather-Marquez (two awards), Pacquiao-Cotto and Pacquiao-Hatton, as well as a detailed look of NASCAR champion Jimmy Johnson Race to Daytona.
ESPN's Emmy winners: College GameDay (top weekly studio show), Pardon the Interruption (best daily studio show) and Kirk Herbstreit as top studio analyst. For its part, ESPN2 scored a pair of statues for E:60 and one for SportsNation.

NFL Films earned three Emmys -- a pair for HBO's Hard Knocks: Training Camp with the Cincinnati Bengals and another for outstanding sports promotional announcement for NFL Network's "2009 Football Season Never Ends" -- bringing its total to 100.

The following is a list of sports Emmy winners by network: HBO Sports/ HBO: 9;  CBS: 4; NBC: 4; MLB Network:4; ESPN:3; ESPN2: 3; Showtime:2; Fox:1; NFL Network: 1; Fox Sports Net: 1;;; Speed:1and CBS Mobile:1. 

Check out the complete list of winners here.

CBS Mobile 1
CBS 4 1
MLB Network 4 FOX 1
NBC 4 FOX Sports Net 1
ESPN 3 1
ESPN2 3 NFL Network 1
CBS / Showtime 2 Speed 1