HDNet Ready for NHL Coverage

Author:
Publish date:

The National Hockey League released scheduling for the first two months of HDNet coverage of the network’s 53-game 2006-07 season.

HD broadcasting begins with the Pittsburgh Penguins hosting the Philadelphia Flyers at Mellon Arena Thursday, Oct. 5.

“We look forward to another season of the NHL on HDNet,” HDNet chairman Mark Cuban said in a prepared statement. “Our true, 16:9 wide-screen broadcasts showcase the action like you’ve never seen before. By giving hockey fans a wider view of the ice, we give them the next best thing to being there.”

Among the early season highlights are veteran players starting with new teams, including Bill Guerin and Doug Weight joining the St. Louis Blues, Rob Blake on the Los Angeles Kings, former Detroit Red Wings star Brendan Shanahan joining the New York Rangers and Eric Lindros on the Dallas Stars.

Coverage is scheduled through Saturday, Dec. 30.

All game broadcasts are shot in 1080i HD format. This will be the fifth season of HDNet’s partnership with the NHL.

HDNet’s schedule, through December:

• Thursday, Oct. 5, Flyers at Penguins, 7:30 p.m. (EST);

• Saturday, Oct. 7, Blues at Kings, 10:30 p.m.;

• Thursday, Oct. 12, Penguins at Rangers, 7 p.m.;

• Saturday, Oct. 14, Stars at Kings, 10:30 p.m.;

• Thursday, Oct. 19, Washington Capitals at Atlanta Thrashers, 7 p.m.;

• Saturday, Oct. 21, Stars at Phoenix Coyotes, 10 p.m.;

• Thursday, Oct. 26, San Jose Sharks at Nashville Predators, 8 p.m.;

• Saturday, Oct. 28, Penguins at Flyers, 7 p.m.;

• Thursday, Nov. 2, Red Wings at Chicago Blackhawks, 8:30 p.m.;

• Saturday, Nov. 4, Columbus Blue Jackets at Red Wings, 7 p.m.;

• Thursday, Nov. 9, New York Islanders at Flyers, 7 p.m.;

• Saturday, Nov. 11, Sharks at Coyotes, 9 p.m.;

• Thursday, Nov. 16, Toronto Maple Leafs at Boston Bruins, 7 p.m.;

• Saturday, Nov. 18, Colorado Avalanche at Minnesota Wild, 8 p.m.;

• Thursday, Nov. 23, Vancouver Canucks at Predators, 8 p.m.;

• Saturday, Nov. 25, Rangers at Penguins, 7:30 p.m.;

• Thursday, Nov. 30, Stars at Capitals, 7 p.m.;

• Saturday, Dec. 2, Sharks at Red Wings, 7 p.m.;

• Thursday, Dec. 7, Blues at Red Wings, 7:30 p.m.;

• Saturday, Dec. 9, Avalanche at Kings, 10:30 p.m.;

• Thursday, Dec. 14, Rangers at Stars, 8:30 p.m.;

• Saturday, Dec. 16, Calgary Flames at Coyotes, 9 p.m.;

• Thursday, Dec. 21, Edmonton Oilers at Coyotes, 9 p.m.;

• Saturday, Dec. 23, Rangers at Tampa Bay Lightning, 7:30 p.m.;

• Thursday, Dec. 28, Flyers at Lightning, 7:30 p.m.; and

• Saturday, Dec. 30, Montreal Canadiens at Lightning, 7:30 p.m.

Related