Large Comcast Group to Capitol Hill


A large contingent of Comcast Corp. officials and employees from around the
country is kicking off a two-day visit to Washington, D.C., Wednesday for
one-on-one sessions with hundreds of Capitol Hill lawmakers and staff, the
company said Tuesday.

The Comcast group, expected to include 150 employees in all, will be led by
chairman Ralph Roberts, president and CEO Brian Roberts, executive vice
president and Comcast Cable Communications Inc. president Stephen Burke and
executive VP David Cohen.

The aim of the trip is to introduce the company to an array of lawmakers who
are unfamiliar with the MSO's history and goals after taking over AT&T
Broadband late last year, Cohen said.

"We are not here to lobby for anything special. We are here to tell the
Comcast story," he added.

Comcast, with 21.3 million subscribers, is the largest cable company in the
United States. It has facilities in 350 congressional districts in 41 states,
passing about 39 million homes.

Events begin with a briefing Wednesday from Sens. Arlen Specter and Rick
Santorum, both Republicans from Comcast's home state of Pennsylvania.

On Wednesday, Reps. John P. Murtha (D-Pa.) and Curt Weldon (R-Pa.) are
hosting a breakfast for the Comcast group with the 19-person Pennsylvania House

Overall, Comcast has scheduled 250 House and Senate appointments, 75% of
which are expected to include the lawmaker, Cohen said.

"This is really focused on Congress," he said, adding that the Comcast group
did not have appointments at the Federal Communications Commission or the White

On Thursday night, Ralph Roberts is to receive the "Trustees Award" from the
National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences at a dinner hosted by Cable
News Network's Lou Dobbs. CNN founder Ted Turner will introduce Roberts, who
started Comcast in 1963 with 1,200 subscribers in Tupelo, Miss.

Past winners of the prestigious honor -- which has not been awarded in four
years -- include CBS founder William Paley, CBS broadcaster Walter Cronkite and
President John F. Kennedy.