Library of American Broadcasting Names 2011 Class Of Giants

Publish date:

The Library of American Broadcasting has named its 2011 Class of Giants of American Broadcasting, including late Communications Daily D.C. reporter Tack Nail.

Other inductees are NBC anchor Brian Williams; ABC This Week host Christiane Amanpour; C-SPAN founder Brian Lamb; CBS Sunday Morning; Federated Media president John Dille III; Fred Pierce, former president of ABC; Frances Preston, former president of BMI; Rick Buckley, the late chairman of Buckley Broadcasting, and the late James Arnass, Matt Dillon of CBS's Gunsmoke fame.

Bill Baker, president emeritus of WNET New York, will host the awards luncheon, scheduled for New York's Grand Hyatt Hotel on Oct. 14.

The Library, housed at the University of Maryland, is entering its 40th year.