Lifetime, TNT Top NAACP Image Awards Nominations For Cable


TNT, Lifetime and TBS's House Of Payne drew the lion's share of NAACP Image Award nominations, announced Wednesday.
TNT and Lifetime garnered  nine nominations each, while TBS and Nickelodeon each received seven nods, according to the civil rights organization. The NAACP Image Awards honor multicultural excellence in television, music and movies.
ABC led all networks with 22 nominations, followed by followed by NBC with 13 and CBS with 12. The 41st Annual NAACP Image Awards ceremony will be televised live on Fox Feb. 26.
TBS' comedy series House Of Payne received nominations in all five comedy categories -- four of which it won last year: best comedy series; best actor (LaVan Davis); best supporting actor (Lance Gross); and best supporting actress (Keshia Knight Pulliam).
Nickelodeon's toddler-targeted series Dora the Explorer will also look to repeat in the best children's category, while teen actress Keke Palmer will look to take home her second Image Award in a row in the outstanding youth/children's performance category for her lead role in Nick's True Jackson, V.P. 

The NAACP Image Awards nominations for television are as follows:

Outstanding Comedy Series
"30 Rock" (NBC)
"Everybody Hates Chris" (CW)
"Glee" (FOX)
"Tyler Perry's House of Payne" (TBS)
"Ugly Betty" (ABC)

Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series
Daryl "Chill" Mitchell - "Brothers" (FOX)
Donald Faison - "Scrubs" (NBC)
Dulé Hill - "Psych" (USA Network)
LaVan Davis - "Tyler Perry's House of Payne" (TBS)
Tyler James Williams - "Everybody Hates Chris" (CW)

Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series
America Ferrera - "Ugly Betty" (ABC)
Cassi Davis - "Tyler Perry's House of Payne" (TBS)
CCH Pounder - "Brothers" (FOX)
Sherri Shepherd - "Sherri" (Lifetime)
Tichina Arnold - "Everybody Hates Chris" (CW)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series
Lamman Rucker - "Tyler Perry's Meet the Browns" (TBS)
Lance Gross - "Tyler Perry's House of Payne" (TBS)
Larenz Tate - "Rescue Me" (FX)
Malcolm-Jamal Warner - "Sherri" (Lifetime)
Tracy Morgan - "30 Rock" (NBC)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series
Ana Ortiz - "Ugly Betty" (ABC)
Keshia Knight Pulliam - "Tyler Perry's House of Payne" (TBS)
Tisha Campbell-Martin - "Rita Rocks" (Lifetime)
Vanessa Williams - "Ugly Betty" (ABC)
Wendy Raquel Robinson - "The Game" (CW)

Outstanding Drama Series
"Cold Case" (CBS)
"Grey's Anatomy" (ABC)
"HawthoRNe" (TNT)
"Lincoln Heights" (ABC Family)
"The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency" (HBO)

Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series
Anthony Anderson - "Law & Order" (NBC)
Hill Harper - "CSI: NY" (CBS)
LL Cool J - "NCIS: Los Angeles" (CBS)
Laurence Fishburne - "CSI: Crime Scene Investigation" (CBS)
Taye Diggs - "Private Practice" (ABC)

Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series
Chandra Wilson - "Grey's Anatomy" (ABC)
Jada Pinkett Smith - "HawthoRNe" (TNT)
Jill Scott - "The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency" (HBO)
Regina King - "Southland" (NBC)
Sandra Oh - "Grey's Anatomy" (ABC)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Corey Reynolds - "The Closer" (TNT)
Delroy Lindo - "Law & Order: Special Victims Unit" (NBC)
James Pickens, Jr. - "Grey's Anatomy" (ABC)
Mekhi Phifer - "Lie To Me" (FOX)
Rocky Carroll - "NCIS" (CBS)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Anika Noni Rose - "The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency" (HBO)
Audra McDonald - "Private Practice" (ABC)
Gabrielle Union - "Flash Forward" (ABC)
Jurnee Smollett - "Friday Night Lights" (NBC)
S. Epatha Merkerson - "Law & Order" (NBC)

Outstanding Television Movie, Mini-Series or Dramatic Special
"America" (Lifetime)
"Brick City" (Sundance)
"Georgia O'Keefe" (Lifetime)
"Gifted Hands" (TNT)
"Relative Stranger" (Hallmark)

Outstanding Actor in a Television Movie, Mini-Series or Dramatic Special
Cuba Gooding Jr. - "Gifted Hands" (TNT)
Eriq La Salle - "Relative Stranger" (Hallmark)
Gus Hoffman - "Gifted Hands" (TNT)
Jaishon Fisher - "Gifted Hands" (TNT)
Philip Johnson - "America" (Lifetime)

Outstanding Actress in a Television Movie, Mini-Series or Dramatic Special
Aunjanue Ellis - "Gifted Hands" (TNT)
Cicely Tyson - "Relative Stranger" (Hallmark)
Kimberly Elise - "Gifted Hands" (TNT)
Rosie O'Donnell - "America" (Lifetime)
Ruby Dee - "America" (Lifetime)

Outstanding Actor in a Daytime Drama Series
Bryton James - "The Young and The Restless" (CBS)
Cassius Willis - "The Young and The Restless" (CBS)
Cornelius Smith, Jr. - "All My Children" (ABC)
Terrell Tilford - "One Life To Live" (ABC)
Texas Battle - "The Bold and the Beautiful" (CBS)

Outstanding Actress in a Daytime Drama Series
Daphne Duplaix - "One Life to Live" (ABC)
Debbi Morgan - "All My Children" (ABC)
Eva Marcelle - "The Young and the Restless" (CBS)
Tatyana Ali - "The Young and The Restless" (CBS)
Tonya Lee Williams - "The Young and the Restless" (CBS)

Outstanding News/ Information - (Series or Special)
"Anderson Cooper 360: President Obama's African Journey" (CNN)
"CNN Presents: Reclaiming the Dream 2" (CNN)
"The Inauguration of Barack Obama, 44th President of the United States" (BET)
"Judge Mathis" (Syndicated)
"Leading Women: India.Arie, Dr. Maya Angelou" (Centric)

Outstanding Talk Series
"Lopez Tonight" (TBS)
"The Mo'Nique Show" (BET)
"The Tyra Banks Show" (CW)
"The View" (ABC)
"The Wanda Sykes Show" (FOX)

Outstanding Reality Series
"American Idol 8" (FOX)
"America's Next Top Model" (CW)
"Dancing With the Stars" (ABC)
"Extreme Makeover" (ABC)
"Real Housewives of Atlanta" (Bravo)

Outstanding Variety - (Series or Special)
"BET Awards 2009" (BET)
"Bill Cosby: The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize for American Humor" (PBS)
"Michael Jackson Memorial Service" (ABC, BET, CNN, MTV, NBC)
"Wanda Sykes: I'ma Be Me" (HBO)
"We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial" (HBO)

Outstanding Children's Program
"The Backyardigans - The Action Elves Save Christmas" (Nickelodeon)
"Dora The Explorer: Dora's Christmas Carol Adventure" (Nickelodeon)
"Go, Diego, Go: Diego Reunites Hippopotamus and Oxpecker" (Nickelodeon)
"True Jackson, VP" (Nickelodeon)
"Wizards of Waverly Place: The Movie" (Disney Channel)

Outstanding Performance in a Youth/Children's Program - (Series or Special)
Caitlin Sanchez - "Dora the Explorer" (Nickelodeon)
Keke Palmer - "True Jackson, VP" (Nickelodeon)
LaShawn Jeffries - "The Backyardigans" (Nickelodeon)
Nick Cannon - "TeenNick HALO Awards" (TeenNick)
Selena Gomez - "Wizards of Waverly Place" (Disney Channel)