Media Security Panel to Meet May 17


Business executives appointed to a federal panel on the security of media
and telecommunications networks are expected to hold their first meeting May 17
at Federal Communications Commission headquarters.

Time Warner Cable chairman and CEO Glenn Britt, News Corp. chairman and CEO
Rupert Murdoch and EchoStar Communications Corp. chairman and CEO Charlie Ergen
have confirmed their attendance at the inaugural session, an FCC spokesman said

FCC chairman Michael Powell created the panel soon after the
Sept. 11 terrorist attacks.

The collapse of the World Trade Center buildings also brought down TV
antennas, but some of the TV stations continued to reach the cable audience
because their studios had direct wireline links to cable headends in the New
York area.

Powell appointed Tribune Co. president and chief operating officer
Dennis FitzSimons to serve as chairman of the 42-member
panel, which also includes trade-association heads and public-safety officials.

Jim Kennedy, chairman and CEO of Cox Enterprises Inc., is a panel member.

The first meeting is expected to last two hours and
include discussion about how media and telecommunications facilities can
continue to perform during times of crisis.