Mexico’s Canal 22 Bulks Up on Architecture Programming - Multichannel

Mexico’s Canal 22 Bulks Up on Architecture Programming

Six Programs Focus on Cultural Heritage of Nation’s Cities
Author:
Publish date:

Mexico’s Canal 22 Internaciónal, a pay TV offering with arts and culture as its focal point, has added six new programs focused around the theme “Tu Arquitectura” (“Your Architecture”).

The programs take viewers down a path exploring the cultural heritage and cosmopolitan atmosphere that intertwine in cities and towns across Mexico.

Suenos en Concreto debuted Nov. 3 and airs Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays at 7 p.m. (ET/PT). The program focuses on the buildings, bridges, highways and dams that have promoted tourism and economic growth in different Mexican communities.

Arquitecturas Mexicanas del Siglo XXI also debuted Nov. 3 and airs Mondays and Fridays at 7:30 p.m. (ET)/4:30 p.m. (PT). It focuses on the value and greatness of contemporary Mexican architecture as seen through the eyes of different authors’ work.

El Poder del Diseño bowed Nov. 4 and airs Wednesdays at 1 a.m. (ET) and Tuesdays at 10 p.m. (PT). Contemporary architecture and its authors are the main focus in this new series, which promotes the creation of new ideas for architecture, industrial and graphic design.

Joyas de Piedra also began its run Nov. 4 and airs Tuesdays at 7 p.m. (ET)/4 p.m. (PT). The show delves into the “secrets” of every street, church, museum, and building in Guadalajara.

Another program added to the Canal 22 Internaciónal lineup on November 4 is X Mexico, which airs every Tuesday and Thursday at 7:30 p.m. (ET)/4:30 p.m. (PT). This program looks closely at the streets, squares and archeological touristic sites of Mexico.

Lastly, Tesoros Coloniales de Oaxaca debuted Nov. 5 and airs Tuesdays at 7:30 p.m. (ET)/4:30 p.m. (ET). This series discusses the great Catholic constructions that were built on the ruins of Mixteca monuments that reflect the beauty of 21st century “New Spanish” art.

In other programming news, the second season of the TVE-produced Spanish historical drama Isabel debuted Nov. 2 on Canal 22 Internacional. The series focuses on the reign of Queen Isabella I of Castille and features Michelle Keller in the title role. Canal 22 is a season behind TVE1; season No. 3 of Isabel debuted on the Spanish channel Sept. 8.

Isabel has been a strong ratings performer for TVE1 in Spain, earning between a 15 and 16 share of the total audience in its first six weeks of season No. 3, according to RTVE data.

Related