NAB Says 1,003 TV Stations Are Digital


The National Association of Broadcasters announced last week that 1,003 TV stations have commenced digital broadcasting.

DTV stations now operate in 201 markets (out of 210 total), which include 99.17% of U.S. TV households, the NAB said.

The U.S. has 1,345 commercial TV stations, which means that 75% of TV broadcasters have started to make the transition to all-digital transmission.

The Federal Communications Commission ordered all 1,345 stations to begin digital broadcasting by May 1, 2002, but the majority of stations missed that deadline.