NASCAR 'Hall' Candidates To Be Announced On Speed, SiriusXM - Multichannel

NASCAR 'Hall' Candidates To Be Announced On Speed, SiriusXM

'NASCAR Race Hub' On Speed Teams With SiriusXM NASCAR Radio On 6 P.M. ET Program
Publish date:
Social count:

NASCAR Race Hub, the Monday-Thursday program on Fox Sports’ Speed channel, is teaming with SiriusXM NASCAR Radio today (Wednesday) to announce the 25 nominees with 2014 eligibility for election into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

The show starts at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT, with a portion of this broadcast being simulcast by both NASCAR Race Hub and SiriusXM Speedway, which is originating its live daily show from Speed's studios in Charlotte, N.C., starting at 3 p.m. ET.

Speed co-hosts Steve Byrnes, Danielle Trotta, along with NASCAR analysts Kyle Petty and (in a late revision) Jeff Hammond and USA Today's Nate Ryan, will be joined by SiriusXM Speedway’s Dave "The Godfather" Moody and Angie Skinner in announcing this year’s 25 nominees.

Among those being speculated on for possible inclusion are Speedway Motorsports president Bruton Smith, considered a surprising omission from the 2013 candidates, and, as potential first-time candidates, drivers Ricky Rudd and Dale Jarrett.

A 21-member panel selects up to 25 people to be eligible for the NASCAR Hall of Fame nominating pool. These notables go up for a vote by an induction process that entails 55 total ballots.

NASCAR Hall of Fame election consists of 21 ballots from the original nominating committee; 34 ballots from former drivers, former owners, former crew chiefs, manufacturer representatives, media and the results of a nationwide fan vote.

Once elected, this group of inductees becomes the fifth class enshrined since the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s founding in 2010.

The 2013 NASCAR Hall of Fame class, inducted this past January in a ceremony seen exclusively on Speed, includes drivers Buck Baker, Cotton Owens, Rusty Wallace, Herb Thomas and legendary car owner Leonard Wood.