Reelz To Air AARP Movie Honors Gala Feb. 22

Julianne Moore, Kevin Costner Among 'Movies For Grownups' Honorees
Author:
Updated:
Original:
aarp.jpg

Reelz will air AARP’s 14th Annual Movies for Grownups Awards Gala on Sunday, Feb. 22 at 1 p.m. ET/ 10 a.m. PT, honoring 2014’s best movies with special appeal to audiences over 50 years of age. The hour-long broadcast airing on Oscar day will feature red-carpet scenes and highlights from the awards podium as told by KTLA entertainment anchor Sam Rubin and former Good Day LA co-host Dorothy Lucey.

Hosted by John Leguizamo, this year’s affair presents top honors to Julianne Moore as “Best Actress” for her heartbreaking portrayal of a woman’s battle with early onset Alzheimer’s in Still Alice and Steve Carell as “Best Actor” for his gifted performance in Foxcatcher. Plus, The Lego Movie is deemed the “Best Movie for Grownups Who Refuse to Grow Up”, Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones take the stage to accept the award for this year’s “Best Picture” The Theory of Everything and Kevin Costner receives a Career Achievement award adding him to an illustrious list of past honorees including Robert De Niro, Robert Redford and Susan Sarandon.

Reelz will re-air the event on Sunday, Feb. 22, at 2 a.m. ET/ 11 p.m. PT and Monday, Feb. 23, at 9 a.m. ET/ 6 a.m. PT.

“AARP’s Annual Movies for Grownups Awards is all about celebrating movies and stars with universal appeal,” Stan E. Hubbard, CEO of Reelz, said in a release. “Reelz is proud that an independent network is able to bring this event to television for the first time, connecting viewers across the country with the excitement of Hollywood wherever it happens -- especially just ahead of Oscar night, the biggest movie celebration day of the year.”

The gala raised more than $100,000 for the AARP Foundation, AARP’s affiliated charity, which works in communities across the nation to help struggling older adults meet their basic need for nutritious food, safe and affordable housing, adequate income and much-needed personal connections.

Related