Rigas, Wilderotter Top Vanguards List


Washington-The National Cable Television Association named this year's "Vanguard Award" winners last Wednesday.

Recipients, noted for excelling in the cable business and for commitment to their colleagues, will get their awards May 10 during a luncheon at the National Show in New Orleans.

By category, they are:

Distinguished Leadership: John J. Rigas, chairman, Adelphia Communications Corp.; and Maggie Wilderotter, CEO, Wink Communications Inc.

Young Leadership: William F. Goodwyn, executive vice president, affiliate sales and marketing, Discovery Networks U.S.

Programmers: Betty Cohen, president, Cartoon Networks Worldwide.

Associates & Affiliates: Paul S. Maxwell, chairman, Bigpipe.com LLC.

Science & Technology: Tony G. Werner, chief technology officer, AT & T Broadband.

Cable Operations Management: Leo Brennan, general manager, Cox Communications Inc. of Orange County (Calif.); and James P. Cottingham, executive vice president, Time Warner Cable.

Government & Community Relations: Bertram W. Carp, partner, Williams & Jensen P.C.

Marketing: Douglas V. Holloway, executive vice president, networks distribution and affiliate relations, USA Cable.