Sapan To Chair Hall Of Fame Honorary Committee


The Cable Center has announced the members of its 2008 Cable Hall of Fame Honorary Committee.

The Honorary Committee, comprising 13 cable industry leaders, will be chaired by Rainbow Media Holdings, Inc. president and CEO Josh Sapan. The 11th annual Cable Hall of Fame celebration, honoring the best in the cable industry, will be held Oct. 16 at the Colorado Convention Center. 

The other committee members, who will serve as the official ambassadors for the Cable Hall of Fame event and The Cable Center: Ann Carlsen, founder and CEO, Carlsen Resources, Inc.; Sandy Colony, senior vice president, corporate communications, Insight Communications; Pat Esser, president, Cox Communications, Inc.; Marwan Fawaz, chief technology officer, Charter Communications; Mark Kang, vice president, affiliate relations, The Sportsman Channel; Ken Lowe, chairman, president and CEO, Scripps Networks Interactive Inc.; Greg Liptak, president, Western Media Group; Mike Pohl, former president, global strategy, C-COR; Steve Raymond, senior vice president, national accounts, Disney & ESPN Media Networks; Les Read, executive director, Cable Pioneers; Peter Stern, executive vice president, chief strategy officer, Time Warner Cable; and David Van Valkenburg, chairman, Balfour Associates

“I'm honored to serve as the chair of the Cable Hall of Fame Honoree Committee,” said Sapan in a statement. “This opportunity offers me and my fellow committee members the chance to put forth a meaningful effort on behalf of The Cable Center. I look forward to working closely with my esteemed committee fellows to develop a successful Cable Hall of Fame event.”

The Cable Hall of Fame celebration will be held in conjunction with Cable Days - three days of industry events to honor the cable telecommunications industry in Denver from Oct. 15-17.

Cable Days begins Oct. 15 with the “Cable Center Smackdown,” an industry trivia challenge between several local cable non-profit organizations, at 11 a.m.; Executive Focus on Customer Care, an introductory class on customer care and customer experience management, at 1:30p.m.; and Cable Positive's Positively Cable show, My Big Fat Greek Digital Dreading , at 5:30 p.m. 

The Oct. 16 agenda is highlighted by the induction of six new members into the Cable Hall of Fame: George Bodenheimer, president of ESPN Inc. & ABC Sports and co-chairman of Disney Media Networks; Richard Green, president and CEO of Cable Television Laboratories Inc.; Raymond Joslin, founder and former president of Hearst Entertainment & Syndication, and former senior vice president and member of the board of directors at Hearst Corp.; Susan E. Packard, president of brand outreach at Scripps Networks;  Hubert “Hub” Schlafly, former president at Teleprompter; and Michael. Willner, vice chairman and CEO at Insight.

Cable Days concludes on Oct 17 with the “Key Issues Series” -- The Structure of the Video Programming Industry: Revolution, Regulation, or The Return of Yesterday's Battles?

Presented in partnership with The Silicon Flatirons Telecommunications Program at the University of Colorado and Communications Technology Professionals, the Key Issues Series brings together executives, students and thought leaders to examine the industry's intertwined policy, business, and technological issues.