Six Cable Nets Win Peabodys

Publish date:
Updated on

New York -- Programs on four basic-cable networks (Cable
News Network, Comedy Central, The Learning Channel and Nickelodeon) and two premium
networks (Home Box Office and Showtime) were cable's 1998 George Foster Peabody Award
winners last week.

During the award ceremonies at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel
here, CNN was singled out for Christiane Amanpour's international news reporting, as
well as for Cold War, the 24-hour primetime documentary series produced by CNN
Productions and Jeremy Isaacs Productions.

In honoring Amanpour, the University of Georgia Henry W.
Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communications also said the award was meant to
"commend the decision of CNN and CBS' 60 Minutes to share her services
and, thus, to bring her achievements to a wider audience."

TLC and the British Broadcasting Corp. were cited for Intimate
The Human Body, a seven-part documentary-series co-production, while
Comedy Central was honored for its animated series, Dr. Katz: Professional Therapist.

HBO's Peabodys were for its sports documentaries,
including Babe Ruth, Sugar RayRobinson: The Bright Lights and Dark
Shadows of a Champion
and Where Have YouGone, Joe DiMaggio?

The network also won for Shot Through the Heart, a
film about the effects of the Bosnian conflict on two friends, and The Larry Sanders
episode entitled "Flip."

Showtime came away with a Peabody for The Baby Dance,
its original movie about adoption.

In addition, Linda Ellerbee and Robert Halmi Sr. won
so-called Personal Awards.

Ellerbee was cited as the host of Nickelodeon's Nick
, particularly for her handling last fall of "The Clinton Crisis" (the
Monica Lewinsky affair).

Halmi, chairman of Hallmark Entertainment, was honored for
his "ambitious" primetime productions, ranging from Moby Dick on USA
Network to such broadcast-network miniseries as Merlin and Alice in Wonderland.

By the time the 58th annual Peabody Awards
presentations were over, 23 other programs and people in broadcast television and radio
were honored, as well.

Peabody Awards recognize distinguished achievement and
meritorious public service by radio and television networks, stations, producing
organizations, cable organizations and individuals.

The University of Georgia administers the program. A
national advisory board makes selections, following recommendations from faculty.