T. Howard Foundation Honors ESPN, Univision's Conde, NBCU's Baker with Diversity Awards

Publish date:

The T. Howard Foundation will honor ESPN, Univision's Cesar Conde and NBCUniversal's Bridget Baker at its 19th Annual Diversity Awards.
The non-profit organization dedicated to promoting diversity throughout the multimedia and entertainment industries will bestow its Corporate Leadership Award to ESPN, with the accolade being accepted by executive chairman George Bodenheimer. Conde, president of Univision Networks, will receive the Executive Leadership Award, while Baker, president of TV Networks Distribution at NBCU will be recognized with the foundation's Champion Award.
The recipients will be honored at this year's Diversity Awards Dinner and gala, to be held on March 28, 2012 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City.
"We are very excited to pay tribute to our three honorees for their exceptional commitment to helping achieve the important goal of increasing the representation of talented young minority professionals in the entertainment and media industries," said T, Howard Foundation president Jo Pamphile in announcing this year's honorees. "As inspiring role models, they all underscore the huge benefit in setting capable students of color on the path to leadership."
The T. Howard Foundation selected ESPN to receive the Corporate Leadership Award for the company's demonstrated commitment to diversity in its organization, as well as its support of the foundation and its diversity mission. Bodenheimer is ESPN's longest-tenured top executive and under his leadership the company has experienced an unprecedented period of growth. Recently assuming the role of executive chairman, Bodenheimer provides strategic direction for ESPN's global business and chairs ESPN's board of directors.
Executive Leadership Award recipient Conde is responsible for overseeing U.S. Hispanic media leader Univision Communications' television networks, as well as overseeing Univision Studios. In addition to his professional endeavors, he is active in the development of educational opportunities for young Hispanics and is the chairman and co-founder of the Futuro Program, a non-profit organization that provides role models and workshops to Hispanic high school students. He currently serves on the President's Advisory Commission on Educational Excellence for Hispanics and the Boards of The Foundation for Excellence in Education and The Paley Center for Media.
Champion Award winner Baker was named NBCUniversal's first president of TV Networks Distribution in 2006. She oversees the North American distribution of NBCUniversal's content across the cable, satellite and telecommunications industry. A founder of CNBC, Baker has spent her career at NBCUniversal, where she has championed diversity. As a member of the steering committee that founded the NBCUniversal Veteran's Network affinity group for military personnel, she also serves on the NBCU Foundation Board, which supports diverse local charities throughout the country. In 2008, she was the only woman inducted into the prestigious Cable TV Pioneers organization and was twice honored by General Electric Co. for her role in founding and leading the Southern California chapter of its global Women's Network.
Dinner Chairs at the 19th Annual Diversity Awards ceremony will be Henry Ahn, executive vice president, content distribution, Scripps Networks Interactive Inc.; Matt Bond, executive vice president, content distribution, NBCUniversal; Sean Bratches, executive vice president, sales and marketing, ESPN; Terry Denson, vice president, global strategy, Verizon Communications; Tonia O'Connor, president, distribution sales and marketing, Univision Communications, Inc.; and Ben Pyne, president, global distribution, Disney Media Networks.

At the event, the T. Howard Foundation will introduce and applaud the talented undergrad and graduate students who participated in the 2011 summer internship program and those who were hired into the industry.