Tennis Channel Freeview Expands French Open Coverage to 55 Million Households

Author:
Publish date:
Updated on

With almost 60 hours of live action and more than 140 match hours from Roland Garros in total, Tennis Channel is presenting expansive coverage from its sixth year at the French Open and will significantly expand its distribution reach during its fortnight in Paris.

Tennis Channel, through a free preview with a number of distributors, will increase its household base to more than 55 million from May 27 through June 10. The network, which currently counts some 34 million subscribers, will see its reach grow with freeview berths on a number of affiliates, including Cox Communications, Verizon FiOS, DirecTV and Dish Network.

French Open

A typical day's French Open schedule on Tennis Channel this year will showcase live matches from 10 a.m.-3 p.m. (ET), followed by four hours of encore coverage of the tournament's best competitions, regardless of whether they first ran on the dedicated racquets sports service or broadcast partners NBC or ESPN.
At 7 p.m. French Open Tonight, hosted by Bill Macatee, will serve up three hours of interviews, analysis, highlights, encore match segments and special reports, set on a stage above the tournament's central Musketeer Plaza. All told, Tennis will air 36 first-run hours of the nightly primetime show and 114 hours overall. Following two consecutive French Open Tonight encores, at 4 a.m daily tournament highlights of the French Tennis Federation (the governing body of the event) will run for an hour before a new day of coverage airs on ESPN2 from 5 a.m.-10 a.m.


Tennis Channel's Live 2012 French Open Match Schedule
(Men's/Women's Singles Unless Otherwise Specified)

Date Time (ET) Event
Sunday, May 27 10 a.m.-3 p.m. First-Round Action
Monday, May 28 10 a.m.-3 p.m. First-Round Action
Tuesday, May 29 10 a.m.-3 p.m. First-Round Action
Wednesday, May 30 10 a.m.-3 p.m. Second-Round Action
Thursday, May 31 10 a.m.-3 p.m. Second-Round Action
Friday, June 1 10 a.m.-3 p.m. Third-Round Action
Saturday, June 2 5 a.m.-Noon Third-Round Action
Sunday, June 3 5 a.m.-1 p.m. Round-of-16 Action
Monday, June 4 10 a.m.-3 p.m. Round-of-16 Action
Tuesday, June 5 8 a.m.-1 p.m. Quarterfinals
Friday, June 8 7 a.m.-11 a.m. Men's Semifinal

Tennis Channel will also offer same-day replays of singles quarterfinal and semifinal matches, and encore coverage of the men's and women's championships after the close of play on the final Sunday:

Wednesday, June 6 - 1 p.m.-7 p.m.: men's and women's singles quarterfinals
Thursday, June 7 - 1 p.m.-7 p.m.: women's singles semifinals
Friday, June 8 - 5 p.m.-midnight: men's semifinals
Sunday, June 10 - 2 p.m.-6 p.m. and 8 p.m.-midnight: men's final; 6 p.m.-8 p.m.: women's final

Related