Time Warner Cable Names Britt Chairman


Time Warner Cable shifted some key management positions in anticipation of its planned split with parent Time Warner Inc., naming CEO Glenn Britt to the additional position of chairman.

Time Warner Cable announced plans to split from Time Warner Inc. last May. The company received the necessary government approvals for the split earlier this month and said it expected to complete the split by the end of the first quarter.

Britt, who has run the cable operation since 1999 and has more than 30 years with the company and its parent will replace retired Time Warner Inc. executive Don Logan as chairman. Logan will remain on TWC's board of directors. Peter Haje, who has served on the TWC board since 2006, was named lead director.
Time Warner Inc. chairman and CEO Jeff Bewkes will be leaving the cable company's board of directors.
In addition, TWC named business consultant Donna James, former Proctor & Gamble executive Edward Shirley and former U.S. Sen. John E. Sununu (R-N.H.) to its board of directors.
The appointments would bring the total number of board members of the company to 12 people. The board has determined that James, Shirley and Sununu would be classified as independent directors.
"The board has benefited greatly from Jeff's contributions and from Don's leadership during his tenure as chairman. I thank them both for their service and look forward to working with Don as he continues to serve as a Director," Britt said in a statement. "The addition of Donna's deep community and financial background, Edward's consumer product experience and John's political expertise further strengthens our already diverse and richly experienced board."