Tribune Renews Fox Affiliation

Agreement involves eight stations
Publish date:
Tribune Media logo 400x300.jpg

As it’s merger deal with Sinclair Broadcast Group continues to unravel, Tribune Media said it has renewed affiliation agreements with Fox Broadcasting company for eight stations.

Terms of the deal were not disclosed.

The stations were already Fox affiliates and are: KCPQ-TV (Seattle), KDVR-TV (Denver), WJW-TV (Cleveland), KTVI-TV (St. Louis), WDAF-TV (Kansas City), KSTU-TV (Salt Lake City), WITI-TV (Milwaukee), and WGHP-TV (Greensboro, N.C.).

Related: Pai: Sinclair-Tribune Decision Made Based on Facts, Law 

The deal comes just as Tribune’s agreement to be acquired by Sinclair is apparently unraveling. The parties  proposed a fifth revision to their deal in May, around the one-year anniversary of the announcement of the $3.9 billion transaction. Last month, the Federal Communications Commission raised questions about three possible station sales tied to transaction, adding that unless those are resolved, "we are unable to find, based upon the record before us, that grant of the applications would be consistent with the public interest."