TVN Launches Event TV HD Channel

Author:
Publish date:

TVN Entertainment Corp. has launched Event TV HD, with the service's initial presentation this Saturday night’s pay-per-view boxing match from Las Vegas.

Broadcast in 1080i, 1920 by 1080 resolution as well as Dolby digital stereo or 5.1 audio, Event TV HD will proffer three to four live events monthly, including boxing, mixed martial arts, and wrestling from top providers like HBO, Showtime, UFC, and WWE.

The channel begins with HBO PPV’s Oscar de la Hoya-Manny Pacquiao bout. The preshow is set begin at 8:30 p.m. (ET) / 5:30 p.m. (PT) and the fight is scheduled to start at 9:00 p.m. (ET)/ 6:00 p.m. (PT).

“TVN remains the leader in file-based content distribution and on-demand solutions. But nothing can beat the thrill of seeing the action of live event programming, especially in the sharp clarity of high definition,” said TVN Entertainment president and COO Doug Sylvester in a statement. “Event TV HD is another example of how we continue to meet the needs of our distribution partners, regardless of platform.”

In addition to providing comprehensive VOD services to cable, telecommunications, and DBS providers, TVN packages, distributes and manages over 8300 hours of programming from nearly 200 content providers including every major movie studio. TVN, which also supplies comprehensive marketing support and asset management services via their Emmy-nominated system ADONISS, has a roster of eight VOD networks.

Related