Univision Deportes Network Lines Up 24/7 WC Coverage

U.S. Spanish-Language Media Leader Unveils Brazilian Game Plan
Author:
Updated:
Original:
WorldCupBrazillogo.jpg

With simulcasts of 56 matches and a host of shoulder fare, Univision Deportes Network will convert into a 24/7 World Cup service on June 9.

Univision Communications Inc.’s cable sports network will deliver more 2014 FIFA World Cup content than any other linear service in the U.S. through July 13, the day after the conclusion of the soccer tourney. The matches on flagship network Univision and UDN will feature the voices and insights of Enrique “El Perro”  Bermúdez, Félix “El Gato” Fernández, Jesús “El Profe”  Bracamontes, and Luis Omar Tapia, among others

In addition to live broadcasts of 56 matches, a schedule that includes the semifinals and the title game on July 12, the 40 million-subscriber UDN will deliver an array of World Cup specials, fresh morning and nighttime shows devoted entirely to the FIFA’s famed tourney and daily special editions of the network’s regular sports commentary programs, airing live from Rio de Janeiro. 

UDN will present original and/or live programming for 17 consecutive hours daily, from 8 a.m. to 1 a.m. (ET) (before heading into a WC encore mode in the overnight hours), highlighted by extended live pre-game shows for each match, with Fútbol Club Desde Río serving as the first live show each night to recap the action from each day.  All live coverage will originate from UDN’s three set locations in Brazil.

As previously reported, broadcast network UniMás and Spanish-language cable network Galavisión will simulcast eight live games and special programming during the month-long tournament. The cable network will also broadcast the best match of the day in primetime in a 60 minute format.

Digitally, users will be able to tap Univision Deportes App and see live-streams of the matches on computers, smartphones and tablets. They will be able to rewind their favorite plays and receive personalized fan alerts, original and exclusive live content, the latest information on their favorite teams, match schedules, real-time highlights and results, and much more. The app will also connect users to each other via Twitter and Facebook. In addition, fans can access comprehensive, up-to-the-minute World Cup content on www.UnivisionDeportes.com from now until the end of the championship.

“We couldn’t be more excited about our World Cup coverage and the incredible access it will provide to millions of soccer fanatics in the U.S., allowing them to not only watch every game live on any platform they choose but also get a first-hand, behind-the-scenes look inside the lively atmosphere and excitement unfolding in one of the world’s most soccer-loving countries,” said Juan Carlos Rodríguez, president of Univision Deportes. “With three dedicated studios in Brazil, a Univision Deportes team of over 150 media professionals on the ground, including world-renowned soccer experts and some of Spanish-language TV’s most popular personalities, plus the use of today’s most sophisticated broadcasting technology such as Augmented Reality graphics, multi-touch screens and many other features, no one else will cover the World Cup like Univision Deportes—the undisputed home of World Cup action in America.”

Sports aside, Univision entertainment programming will also be in the game. Weekday morning show, Despierta América (Wake Up America), will showcase myriad segments from Rio, with co-host Alan Tacher, reporters Maity Interiano and Orlando Segura and social media correspondent William Valdés on the beat.

El Gordo y La Flaca (The Scoop and the Skinny) co-host Raúl de Molina and reporter Carlos Calderón will be stationed in Rio’s famous Copacabana area to bring viewers the latest entertainment gossip surrounding the world’s biggest sporting event. The show airs weekdays at 4 p.m. (ET/PT) and 3 p.m. (Central).

The following is Univision Communications’ non-match coverage plan as described by the networks.

UNIVISION DEPORTES NETWORK EXCLUSIVES – TO BE BROADCAST FROM RIO

“Súper Estadio Brasil” (Brazil Super Stadium)

Monday to Sunday at 8:00 a.m. ET/7:00 a.m. CT/5:00 a.m. PT

This unique morning show will report daily up-to-date news and information, live from Rio de Janeiro.

“Fútbol Club – Desde Río” (Fútbol Club – From Rio)

Monday to Sunday - For times, please check local TV listings or visit UnivisionDeportes.com

Using the latest technology, Edgar Martínez, Felix Fernández and Hristo Stoichkov will host special guests as they analyze, debate and discuss everything that’s happening in Brazil, on and off the field—twice a day.

“Fútbol Central – Edición Mundial” (Futbol Central – World Cup Edition)

Monday to Sunday - For times, please check local TV listings or visit UnivisionDeportes.com

A pre-game report detailing everything fans need to know before each live match.

“Copa Mundial en 30” (World Cup in 30 minutes)

Monday to Sunday - For times, please check local TV listings or visit UnivisionDeportes.com

Fans will be able to watch 30-minute versions of the two best matches of the day.

“Copa Mundial en 60” (World Cup in 60 minutes)

Monday to Sunday - For times, please check local TV listings or visit UnivisionDeportes.com

Fans will be able to watch 60-minute versions World Cup matches.

“Previo de la FIFA” (FIFA’s Preview Show)

Monday to Sunday at 7:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. CT/4:30 a.m. PT

An exclusive FIFA show looking ahead to the day’s action.

AIRING ON UDN AND UNIVISION NETWORK:

“República Mundialista” (World Cup Republic)

Monday to Sunday at 12:00 a.m. ET/11:00 p.m. CT/9:00 p.m. PT

Special guests join Univision Deportes talent to bring fans the World Cup in a fun and entertaining way, live from Brazil.

“República Deportiva – Edición Mundial” (Sports Republic – World Cup Edition)

Saturdays and Sundays at 2:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. CT/11:00 a.m. PT

Hosts: Fernando Fiore, Felix Fernández and Lindsay Casinelli

The ever popular sports show airs live from Rio de Janeiro during the World Cup.

AIRING ON UDN AND UNIMÁS

“Contacto Deportivo” (Sports Contact)

Monday to Sunday at 11:00 p.m. ET/10:00 p.m. CT/8:00 p.m. PT

Hosts: Alejandro Berry and Jorge Calvo

The nightly sportscast will air live from Rio de Janeiro for the duration of the World Cup.

AIRING ON GALAVISIÓN

“Copa Mundial en 60” (World Cup in 60)

Match dates – 8:00 p.m. ET/PT (7:00 p.m. Central)

A re-broadcast of the day’s best match.

Related