Verizon Wireless Expands Bundles With Cox, TWC Hawaii

Cox and Carrier Roll Promos in Kansas, Arkansas, Nebraska; Oceanic Subs Eligible for $200 Gift Card

Verizon Wireless and Cox Communications have extended their joint marketing program -- offering up to $400 to customers who bundle Internet and wireless services in select markets in Kansas, Arkansas and Nebraska -- while the wireless carrier launched similar offers with Time Warner Cable Oceanic in Hawaii.

In December 2011, Comcast, Time Warner Cable and Bright House Networks entered into an agreement to sell Verizon Wireless their Advanced Wireless Services spectrum holdings for $3.6 billion. In addition, the operators and wireless carrier said they would sell each other's services in select areas. Cox entered into a similar arrangement with Verizon Wireless.

The Federal Communications Commission in August granted conditional approval of the spectrum deals. The U.S. Department of Justice Department gave the green light to the partnerships, but restricted cross-marketing agreements to limit them in time and scope. For example, Verizon Wireless is not allowed to market competing cable service in FiOS TV markets.

In the Cox markets, customers are eligible to receive a Visa prepaid debit card ranging from $100 to $400, depending on the selected bundle of video, Internet, home phone and 4G LTE mobile service. In May, the companies kicked off the first market when they began selling each other’s services in parts of Cox’s Oklahoma City and Tulsa service areas. 

In Hawaii, customers can now purchase packages of Oceanic Time Warner Cable residential TV, Internet and phone services and Verizon Wireless smartphones and tablets from both companies to be eligible to receive a Visa prepaid debit card valued at up to $200. Markets that launched Thursday include locations on Oahu, Kauai and the Big Island.

Earlier year, TWC and Verizon Wireless began joint marketing initiative in cities in nine states: Illinois, Kansas, Nebraska, New England, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee and Wisconsin.