Videotron Tunes in Live 4K-TV

Starts With Tonight’s Oilers-Senators NHL Matchup
Author:
Updated:
Original:
videotron samsung4K box 400x300.jpg

Canadian MSO Videotron said it has begun to carry live sports in Ultra HD format to customer with an illico 4K Ultra HD PVR and a compatible UHD TV.

Videotron has slated select games from TSN (channel 910) in UHD/4K, starting with tonight’s NHL matchup between the Edmonton Oilers and the Ottawa Senators.

Videotron introduced its 4K/Ultra HD set-top last August, initially offering it for C$399 and providing access to a menu of VOD titles. The Samsung-made device  can record eight shows at once, and can store up to 115 hours of UHD content (and up to 320 hours of regular HD). Fellow Canadian operator Rogers Communications has also launched a major 4K initiative that will include live coverage of 81 home games of the Toronto Blue Jays on Sportsnet, and support for 4K content from Netflix and Shomi, the multiscreen SVOD service owned by  Rogers and Shaw Communications.

Here’s the other live 4K games that Videotron has on tap: 

Hockey

Thursday, February 4, 7:30 p.m.: Edmonton Oilers vs. Ottawa Senators

-Monday, February 8, 7:30 p.m.: Tampa Bay Lightning vs. Ottawa Senators

-Thursday, March 3, 7:30 p.m.: Tampa Bay Lightning vs. Ottawa Senators

-Tuesday, March 22, 7:30 p.m.: Washington Capitals vs. Ottawa Senators

Basketball

-Sunday, February 21, 6 p.m.: Memphis Grizzlies vs. Toronto Raptors

-Wednesday, February 24, 7:30 p.m.: Minnesota Timberwolves vs. Toronto Raptors

-Wednesday, March 2, 7:30 p.m.: Utah Jazz vs. Toronto Raptors

-Friday, March 4, 7:30 p.m.: Portland Trail Blazers vs. Toronto Raptors

-Thursday, March 10, 7:30 p.m.: Atlanta Hawks vs. Toronto Raptors

-Wednesday, March 30, 6 p.m.: Atlanta Hawks vs. Toronto Raptors

-Tuesday, April 5, 7:30 p.m.: Charlotte Hornets vs. Toronto Raptors

-Tuesday, April 12, 7:30 p.m.: Philadelphia 76ers vs. Toronto Raptors

Related